Health Department

Useful Links

American Cancer Society - https://www.cancer.org/

American Dental Association – www.ada.org

American Diabetes Association - https://www.diabetes.org/

American Heart Association - https://www.heart.org/

Center for Disease Control and Prevention – www.cdc.gov

Child Passenger Safety - https://www.nhtsa.gov/

Heart Health and Your Eyes - www.visioncenter.org

March of Dimes - https://www.marchofdimes.org/

Medicare Advantage Plans in North Carolina - https://www.affordablehealthinsurance.com/medicare-advantage-plans/north-carolina/

Mesothelioma Guide - https://www.mesotheliomaguide.com/mesothelioma/

NC Oral Health Collaborative - https://oralhealthnc.org/healthy-mouths-r1/

North Carolina Child Advocacy Institute - https://ncchild.org/

North Carolina Health Alert Network - https://www.nchan.org/

North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics - https://schs.dph.ncdhhs.gov/

Prevent Child Abuse North Carolina - https://www.preventchildabusenc.org/

Quitline NC - https://quitlinenc.dph.ncdhhs.gov/

Safe Kids Worldwide - https://www.safekids.org/

Social Security Guide - https://www.caring.com/caregivers/social-security/


Substance Use

Support for overcoming substance misuse - https://startyourrecovery.org/

FirstHealth Recovery Resources - http://www.firsthealth.org/recoveryresources

NC Addiction Treatment Centers - https://www.addictioncenter.com/rehabs/north-carolina/

Long-term Drug Rehab in North Carolina - https://www.addicted.org/north-carolina-long-term-drug-rehab.html

Alcohol Withdrawal - https://www.alcoholhelp.com/alcohol/alcohol-withdrawal/

The Effects of Alcohol Abuse - https://www.alcoholhelp.com/Alcohol/The-Effects-Of-Alcohol-Abuse/

Inpatient Alcohol Rehab - https://www.alcoholrehabguide.org/treatment/inpatient-rehab/

The Recovery Village Drug & Alcohol Rehab - https://www.therecoveryvillage.com/

Body, Mind, and Well-Being Resources - https://www.columbusrecoverycenter.com/well-being-resources/

Addiction Group - How to Sober Up https://www.addictiongroup.org/blog/how-to-sober-up/ 


CBD Oil Awareness

Does CBD Help Addiction Recovery? - https://www.cbdoil.org/cbd-oil-for-addiction-recovery/

2022 CBD Laws by State - https://www.cbdoil.org/cbd-laws-by-state/

Does CBD Get you High? - https://www.cbdoil.org/does-cbd-get-you-high/


Entry to Nursing 

Types of Nursing Degrees and Levels - https://nursejournal.org/articles/types-of-nursing-degrees/

Guide to Financial Aid and Scholarships for Nurses -  https://nursejournal.org/articles/nursing-scholarships-grants/

Nursing Scholarship - https://nursingexams.org/nursing-scholarship/#0337

Underrepresented Student Nursing School Scholarship - https://nursingexams.org/nursing-school-scholarship-underrepresented-student/#0337

Single Parent Nursing Scholarship - https://nursingexams.org/nursing-scholarship-single-parents/#0337


Educational Resources 

Study.com Student Scholarships - https://study.com/resources/student-scholarships#0489 (Each of these scholarships offers a $500 academic award to its winner, and has an application deadline of September 1st)